The academic courses starting in September 2014 are designed to be followed for two years (Years 10 and 11), leading to National Curriculum Key Stage 4 IGCSE examinations in June 2016.


The curriculum is divided into Core Subjects, taken by all students, and Optional Subjects, chosen by each student on the basis of one subject from each of the option groups.

The core subjects are:


  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Spanish


The Optional Subjects will be placed in six groups and students must choose one subject from each group.


The subjects available are:


  • Art
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Drama
  • French
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information Technology
  • Physics
  • Physical Education


The precise distribution of subjects in the option blocks will be decided in the light of student preferences. English is either a “double entry” Language and Literature course, leading to two separate IGCSE’S, or single Language course. Therefore, most candidates will follow a course of nine or ten IGCSE’S.


Examination Grades

IGCSE examination performances are graded on a scale of A to G.


For the purposes of further and higher education, Grade C has been widely regarded as the lowest “pass” grade for many ‘A’ level courses.

Courses for universities and other higher education establishments often require the higher A and B grades.


Parents will have the opportunity to discuss option choices at the Year 9 Parents’ Meeting. Following this meeting, all students will be given advice about choices with a view to firm choices being made by the end of April.


In the following pages, Heads of Departments have prepared some brief notes on each subject which may be of assistance in the discussions.

St. Anthony's College

St Anthony´s College, Camino de Coin,

Km.  5,25 Mijas Costa – Málaga.